It’s all worth it

16 10 2012

Day in and day out, we struggle and strive to get through our seemingly endless list of work. No matter what your career, some days it seems to be a never ending drudgery.

As a writer/journalist student I find weariness creeping up on me each night and making each morning far too early. We research and interview and compile information. We write…and rewrite. We publish, promote and promote some more but success is so hard to measure. Is there really any purpose for all our efforts?

And then that moment comes when see your work recognized. When it is published and out there and people are paying for it. When all your hard work has become something tangible and you can hold it and flip through the pages.

And you know that the trials and the struggle is worth it.

And so you can get up and start again each morning and you find your passion again.

Genius of Ancient Man book

After two years of research and almost another year of wordsmithing and editing, out team from Jackson Hole Bible College is excited to see “The Genius of Ancient Man” finally published: http://amzn.to/SYpTxj

Visit the Ancient Man Blog: http://geniusofancientman.blogspot.ca/

Actions

Information

7 responses

16 10 2012
Shari Styles

Analea, Dad and I are so proud of you! As we walked through the last year with you we also wondered if the ‘book’ would ever become a reality, and here it is more amazing than we could of imagined. Congratulations!

17 10 2012
amyrobertson

Congratulations, Analea! I’ve been wondering: how do you define wordsmithing? What’sthe difference between wordsmithing and editing or writing?

17 10 2012
analeastyles

For my work on this book, we ended up calling it “wordsmithing” for lack of a better term and decided it really fit. Basically it is a lot more than just editing. The book came about from a group of researchers and writers and I rewrote and reorganize the whole book, adding research of my own. I gave the whole book one central voice and flow. I didn’t “write” the whole thing because it wasn’t my words or thoughts necessarily but I did end up rewriting almost every sentence. If that makes sense.

19 11 2012
Amy R (@mrsamyer)

Interesting. I understand the dilemma. I wonder if there’s a more mainstream word you can use that will allow others to truly understand what you did. Co-wrote and edited? Ghost-wrote?

17 10 2012
Terri Tangeman

Hi Analea, my kids ordered me the book for my birthday – which was yesterday. Now I just have to wait until it arrives. I am so excited to see the fruit of your labors and to learn all the interesting information that is in this book. Congratulations on a finished product! Terri Tangeman

19 10 2012
stevenygaard

Journalism sounds tough, but copy writing… are you ready to knock on some doors?

That should be an assignment…

4 12 2012
RC

It’s an excellent book – my wife and I own a copy and are already giving them away to friends.

Leave a Reply

